An uncontrolled release of hazardous or toxic materials capable of posing a risk to public health, safety or the environment.


In 2000, over 1400 sites in Delaware used or stored hazardous materials under the Delaware Hazard Chemical Inventory requirements.

Over 40 hazmat spills each year - approximately 75% involving petroleum products.

3,640,000 tons of petroleum products on Delaware waterways.

100,000 tons of hazardous materials transported by rail in Delaware.

1,799 miles of pipeline in Delaware.

3,500 miles of roadways through Delaware transporting gasoline, fuel oil, propane and hazardous substances.


  • State Emergency Response Commission Annual Report
  • Oil & Hazardous Substance Incident Contingency Response Plan (SERT Plan)
  • Multi-Hazard Decontamination Plan


  • Coordinate State Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA). Develop policy and plans for potential chemical emergencies and reporting on hazardous chemicals in cooperation with federal, state and local governments, and industry.
  • Member of State Emergency Response Commission (SERC), chaired by Department of Public Safety Cabinet Secretary.
  • Coordinate activities of Local Emergency Planning Committees (LEPC's)
  • New Castle County, Kent County, Sussex County, and the City of Wilmington.
  • Administrate US Department of transportation Hazardous Material Emergency Preparedness Program (HMEP).
  • Support Computer Aided Management of Emergency Operations (CAMEO) system
  • State on-scene coordinator for major hazardous material incidents that may significantly impact citizen safety or the environment.
  • Member of Regional Response Team (RRT) Federal Region III (Pennsylvania, Maryland, Delaware, Virginia, West Virginia and DC).
  • Member of Port Area Committee
  • Member of Inland Area Committee
  • Member of Marine Fire Fighting Task Force
  • Member of Tri-State Search and Rescue (TRISAR)

Contact Information

State Emergency Response Commission
(877) SAY-DEMA (792-3362)
(toll free in Delaware only)
(302) 659-3362

City of Wilmington
Local Emergency Planning Committee
(302) 576-3916

New Castle County
Local Emergency Planning Committee
(302) 761-1751

Kent County
Local Emergency Planning Committee
(302) 736-2222

Sussex County
Local Emergency Planning Committee
(302) 855-7801

EPCRA Reporting Program
(302) 739-4791

Environmental Notification and
Complaint Hotline
(800) 662-8802

Accident Prevention Program
(302) 323-4542

For further information, please contact:
EPCRA Reporting Program
Emergency Prevention and Response Branch, DNREC
156 South State Street
Dover, DE 19901

SERC Web Page